Safety Day gathers campus safety leaders for learning and recognition

On October 3, over 200 Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee (JOHSC) and Local Safety Team (LST) members from across UBC Vancouver gathered in the Nest’s Great Hall to celebrate and recognize achievement in making UBC Vancouver a safer place to work.

This year, President Santa Ono delivered an introductory speech indicating UBC’s commitment to safety followed by leading presenters on topics such as Influencing Change without Authority and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment as well as Save a Life training.

Safety & Risk Services, campus leadership, and executive also acknowledged JOHSCs and LSTs: Andrew Szeri, provost and vice-president academic; Barbara Meens-Thistle, vice-president human resources; Gail Murphy, vice-president research and innovation; and Andrew Parr, interim vice-president students presented the following awards:

  • Faculty of Applied Science JOHSC and Michael Smith Laboratories LST were recognized for Innovative Safety Leadership.
  • Animal Workers JOHSC and Childcare Services LST were recognized for Safety Committee/Team Engagement.
  • Barry Jones of Building Operations was recognized with The Richard Hare Memorial Award as a worker representative who displayed exceptional contribution to safety at UBC.

Safety is more than just one day. Thank you to all JOHSC and LST members for their continuing contributions to making UBC safer. Visit to find out how you can help improve safety at UBC Vancouver and attend next year’s Safety Day.

Did you miss Safety Day? Find all the information right here